Categories of Data Types in PL/SQL in Oracle


How Many Categories of Data Types in Oracle?



PL/SQL data types are grouped into 4 categories:

  • Scalar Data Types: A scalar data type holds a single value.
  • Composite Data Types: A composite data type has internal components, such as the elements of an array.
  • LOB Data Types: A LOB data type holds a lob locator that specify the location of a large object.
  • Reference Data Types: A reference data type holds a pointer that points to another data object.


Understanding PL/SQL Language Basics

⇒⇒Oracle Database Tutorials

2018-11-17, 808👍, 0💬